Guidde vs Scribe (2026): Which Documentation Tool Wins?
Vorec Team · 2026-07-16 · About 6 min read
Scribe leads with written step-by-step guides with screenshots and Guidde leads with narrated how-to videos, so pick by whether your audience reads or watches, then check the tier. On pricing read 15 October 2026, Scribe Pro Team is $29 per seat monthly ($23 annual, 5-seat minimum), Guidde Pro is $29 per creator monthly ($19 annual) and Guidde Business is $59 ($39 annual). Desktop capture needs Scribe Pro or Guidde Business. For five creators on annual billing, that is $1,380 a year for Scribe Pro Team, $1,140 for Guidde Pro and $2,340 for Guidde Business.
Guidde and Scribe land on the same shortlist because both turn a workflow you perform into a guide someone else can follow. They lead with different formats: Scribe with a written step-by-step guide, Guidde with a narrated how-to video. Both now reach into the other's format, so the useful comparison is about plans, capture sources and exports, not "documents versus video."
Sources: each vendor's pricing page and help documentation, read on 15 October 2026 (Scribe pricing, Guidde pricing). We read the pages; we did not install either extension or compare output quality hands-on.
The 30-second verdict
- Pick Scribe if your team reads documentation: numbered steps with screenshots, shared by link or embed, and exported to PDF, HTML, Markdown or Word on Pro.
- Pick Guidde if your audience watches: captured steps become a narrated how-to video, with MP4, GIF and PPT downloads on paid plans.
- Check the tier first for desktop capture, uploads and AI voice. On both tools these sit above the free plan.
Pricing, read 15 October 2026
| Free | Individual paid | Team paid | Top tier | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scribe | Basic $0 (web apps, link sharing, embeds) | Pro Personal $35/seat monthly, $25 on annual billing | Pro Team $29/seat monthly, $23 annual, minimum 5 seats | Enterprise custom |
| Guidde | $0, up to 25 how-to videos, web capture, recorded voiceover | Pro $29/creator monthly, $19 annual | Business $59/creator monthly, $39 annual, up to 5 creators | Enterprise, contact sales |
Viewers are free on Guidde; only admins, content managers and creators take paid seats. Scribe states that a team cannot mix Basic and Pro members.
Worked example, five creators on annual billing: Scribe Pro Team is $1,380 a year (5 × $23 × 12). Guidde Pro is $1,140 (5 × $19 × 12) and Guidde Business is $2,340 (5 × $39 × 12). Business is the Guidde tier with desktop capture and AI text-to-voice, so price the tier that has the features you need, not the cheapest card.
Capture: browser, desktop and existing videos
- Scribe Basic captures web apps in Chrome or Edge. Desktop and mobile app documentation starts on Pro Personal; Scribe's FAQ confirms desktop capture needs Pro or Enterprise.
- Guidde Free is web-only. Desktop and mobile capture sources start on Business.
- Existing recordings: Scribe announced on 7 July 2026 that it can turn an existing video (MP4, MOV, WebM or MKV, up to 30 minutes and 500 MB) into an editable step-by-step guide, silent videos included; the announcement is tagged Pro, Pro Team and Enterprise. Guidde's matrix lists video-to-knowledge-base-article conversion on every plan, and MP4, PPT and PDF import on Business and Enterprise.
So neither tool is extension-only any more. Both still put their wider capture sources on paid tiers.
Output and exports
| Scribe | Guidde | |
|---|---|---|
| Main output | Written guide with screenshots | Narrated how-to video with steps |
| Video-style output | "Movies": shared or embedded walkthroughs with motion, voice and visual cues, on all plans | The core product |
| Document export | PDF, HTML, Markdown, Word on Pro Personal and Pro Team; not on Basic | PDF on Pro |
| Video download | Not established from the pages we read | MP4, GIF, PPT on Pro and above; not on Free |
| Link sharing and embeds | All plans | Link and email sharing on all plans |
Scribe's Movies documentation does not say you can download an MP4, so we do not claim either way.
Voice and narration
- Guidde: recorded voiceover and auto captions on all plans. AI text-to-voice and Magic Mic start on Business, with 200+ voices there and 400+ on Enterprise, and AI audio in 50+ languages. Enterprise adds 60 minutes of on-demand translation; the reset period is not stated.
- Scribe: Movies can carry voice, and the Basic matrix shows a dash for voice transcription, which starts on paid plans. We did not find a per-tier AI voice allowance on the pricing page.
Quick answers
Which produces better guides for compliance teams, Guidde or Scribe?
We did not compare output quality. For compliance work, check governance features instead: Scribe Enterprise adds security and governance features, and Guidde Enterprise lists SSO and content review with version control. Scribe Pro adds redaction in its screenshot editing; Guidde lists blur from Pro.
Can I embed Guidde or Scribe guides in Notion?
Both offer link sharing, and Scribe lists embeds on every plan, Basic included. We did not test a Notion embed for either tool, so check that specific integration in a trial.
Is there a free plan?
Yes, both. Scribe Basic is $0 for web-app capture; the captured matrix shows a dash for unlimited guide creation on Basic and does not state a number. Guidde Free allows up to 25 how-to videos with web capture, without MP4 downloads. Guidde also offers a 7-day Business trial without a card, but MP4 export needs an active paid subscription.
Does either have an MCP server or API?
Guidde has an MCP connector as an Enterprise paid add-on; its documentation says it searches and reads published guides and cannot create, edit or publish them. We did not check Scribe's API or MCP options.
Where Vorec fits
Vorec starts from a screen recording rather than a step capture. Record with its macOS recorder or upload a recording you already have; Vorec drafts narration matched to the captured workflow and generates the voiceover, so nobody records their voice. Freeze-sync can hold the frame while an explanation finishes, and a written step-by-step guide can be generated from the same capture. Plans start at $9/month, with a free trial with no credit card required (current allowances on the pricing page); the trial allows up to 3 projects and its exports carry a watermark.
It is a different shape from both tools above: a narrated video first, with the written guide generated from it, rather than a step capture first.
Bottom line
Choose by the format your readers use and the tier your capture source needs. Scribe's paid plans are where its document exports, desktop capture and video import live; Guidde's Business plan is where its desktop capture and AI voices live. Price five seats on the tier you would actually buy before comparing.
Related reading: Guidde alternatives, Scribe alternatives, Guidde pricing, Scribe vs Tango, Guidde vs Tango, Loom vs Guidde and Best Workflow Documentation Tools in 2026. For the video-first route, see the Guidde alternative without an extension and the Scribe alternative for video tutorials.
Want a narrated video and a written guide from one recording? Record with Vorec, or upload one you already have. Start your free trial, no card needed.